Panel of Judges

The Judges will convene in February 2014 to select the winning entries from the shortlist in each category. The winning entries will be announced in February 2014.

Sir Harold Evans – Chairman – United Kingdom

Sir Harold Evans is one of Britain’s most famous and feted editors. He first edited the Northern Echo in Darlington before moving to edit the Sunday Times in London for 14 years, where his campaigns – for example, on behalf of thalidomide victims – made headlines and helped change laws. He was briefly editor of The Times thereafter, before moving to the United States, where he has served as publisher at Random House and editorial director of several publications, including US News and World Report. He is a noted historian of American life and a world authority on newspaper design techniques. Sir Harold is currently editor-at-large for Reuters.

Sylvie Kauffmann – France

Sylvie Kaufmann is editorial director of the French newspaper Le Monde, of which she was editor in chief in 2010-2011. Previously, she was the deputy editor and a reporter-at-large in Asia, based in Singapore. Kaufmann joined Le Monde in 1988 as its Moscow correspondent. Next, as Eastern and Central Europe correspondent, she covered the collapse of the Soviet empire and the subsequent political and economic changes in the Eastern European countries. She then moved to the United States, first as Washington correspondent and then as New York bureau chief. She also covered the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks as reporter-at-large. Kauffmann then headed the in-depth reporting section of Le Monde.

Juan Luis Cebrian – Spain

Juan Luis Cebrián is the founding editor of El Pais in Madrid and CEO of the Prisa media groep. He founded El Pais in 1976, after graduating from the school for journalism and finishing his studies in philosophy at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. As editor of El Pais he played an important role in Spain’s development from a dictatorship to a democracy. In his fifty years in journalism, he has won many prizes, among others the International Editor of the Year Award from the World Press Review in New York (1980), the Premio Nacional de Periodismo de España – Spain’s National Press Journalism Award (1983) and the Freedom of Expression Medal from the F. D. Roosevelt Four Freedoms Foundation (1860). He is a member of the Royal Spanish Academy, a member of the board of Le Monde and a writer.

Yevgenia Albats – Russia

Yevgenia Albats was the first Soviet journalist to investigate the Soviet political police, the KGB in the Soviet-era. She is the author of The State Within A State: KGB and Its Hold on Russia. In 1989, she received the Golden Pen Award, the highest journalism honour in the then-Soviet Union. She was an Alfred Friendly fellow in 1990 and a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University in 1993 and worked freelance for the Chicago Tribune, Newsweek, and the CNN bureau in Moscow. She has a PhD in political science from Harvard University and teaches at the Moscow-based Higher School of Economics University. Albats is the author of four books and currently is Editor in Chief and CEO of the Moscow-based political weekly The New Times, one of the few independent media outlets in the current Russia. She is also a talk show host for two Russian networks.

Jorgen Ejbol – Denmark

Jørgen Ejbøl started his career in journalism with the Aalborg Stiftstidende newspaper. From 1976-1993 he served as editor and editor-in-chief on various newspapers in Denmark such as Fyens Amts Avis, Dagbladet, Weekendavisen Berlingske Aften, BT, Billed Bladet, and Berlingske Tidende. From 1991-1993 he was editor-in-chief and managing director of JydskeVestkysten. In 1993, Ejbøl became editor-in-chief and managing director with Morgenavisen Jyllands-Posten, followed, in 2003, by his appointment as chairman of the board of JP/Politiken Newspapers Ltd., (Jyllands-Posten, Politiken and Ekstra Bladet). As of 2008, he is Vice Chairman of the Jyllands-Posten Foundation. From 2005 Ejbøl has held managerial positions in several media organizations in Denmark and abroad, like APM Print & Trans Press, (Belgrade, Serbia & Montenegro), Alta Press, Barnaul, (Russia) and Sermitsiak.AG (Denmark/Greenland). From 2005-2008 Ejbøl was a member of the UNESCO World Press Freedom Prize. From 2005-2011 The Danish Egyptian Dialogue Institute.