ECA 2020

Cartoonists are journalists, and they must be recognised as such. With that in mind, this year we have partnered with Studio Europa Maastricht to launch our very first European Cartoon Award in order to preserve this endangered form of art and great asset to journalism. Out of hundreds of entries and incredible talent from cartoonists all over Europe, we are proud to present this year’s winner.

Watch one of two runners-up Joep Bertrams together with 2020 European Cartoon Award winner Anne Derenne in a round table discussion surrounding the role of cartoons in fostering European debates. They are joined by European Press Prize director Thomas van Neerbos, Studio Europa Maastricht director Gonny Willems and the chair of our panel of judges Janet H. Anderson.

Would you like to see more cartoons?

View the 2021 Shortlist in full here.