Shortlists 2016

Published on February, 15 2016

Shortlist 2016 is announced

This year the shortlist features 33 projects in 5 categories, with the Special Award to pay tribute to the great pieces that have been written about the refugee Crisis all across Europe.

Peter Preston, chair of the preparatory committee and former editor of the Guardian in London, remarked:Year after year since the contest’s founding in 2012, European Press Prize entries have grown – and this year exceeds all, is by far the biggest yet: not just in quantity but, crucially, in quality too. This prize embraces and welcomes all 47 nations recognised by the Council of Europe. It seeks to find not just the big award winner in national competitions and the stars of international coverage, but also quietly excellent reportage from smaller nations where journalism is an intrinsic part of cementing democracy.’

The nominees for 2016

The Investigative Reporting Award
Nizar Manek and Jeremy Hodge (UK): Opening the Black Box of Egypt’s Slush Funds
Jürgen Dahlkamp, Sven Becker, Gunther Latsch, Walter Mayr and Jörg Schmitt (DE): Besondere Verdienste
Marion Quillard (FR): Que celles qui ont été violées lèvent la main
Jonathan Calvert, George Arbuthnott, Heidi Blake and Bojan Pancevski (UK): The FIFA Scandal
Mar Cabra (ES): Swiss Leaks: Murky Cash Sheltered by Bank Secrecy
Roman Anin in cooperation with FBK (RU): The Values of the Clan
Luke Dale-Harris (UK) and Sorin Semeniuc (RO): Land Grabbing in the EU: How Rabobank is Profiting of Theft and Abuse in Romania
Anita Vorák (HU): How the Son-in-Law of Hungary’s Prime Minister Benefited from EU Funds

The Distinguished Writing Award
Paul Raymond and Jack Watling (UK): The Struggle for Mali
Jonathan Stock (DE): Die Löwen vom Sindschar
Elena Stancu (RO): Fără Antecedente Penale
Wolfgang Bauer (DE): Straße der Angst
Justyna Kopinska (PO): The Fear-Sick Ward
Magda Gad (SE): Why the Beggars Come

The Commentator Award
Maria Louka (GR): The Monster and Us
Fintan O’Toole (IE): Commentaries on Same Sex Marriage in Ireland
Eric Frey (AT): Kommentare zur Flüchtlingskrise
George Monbiot (UK): Three Columns
Caroline de Gruyter (NL): Hoe het linkse Verhaal Verdwenen is
Gideon Rachman (UK): Gideon Rachman Commentary

The Innovation Award
Jennifer Wilton and team (DE): ANGST
Jacopo Ottaviani (IT): E-Waste Republic
Raquel Moleiro, Hugo Franco and Joana Beleza (PT): Killing and Dying for Allah – Five Portuguese Members of Islamic State
Håkon Høydal, Einar Otto Stangvik and Natalie Remøe Hansen (NO): Nedlasterne/ The Downloaders
Carina Bergfeldt and Magnus Wennman (SE): #Icare Project
Eva Belmonte Belda (ES): Medicamentalia: Third World Treatments ¿First World Prices?

Special Award – Refugee Crisis
Bostjan Videmsek (SI): A Syrian Ode to Joy
Ioannis Papadopoulos (GR): Οι ταξιδιώτες της απόγνωσης στο Αιγαίο (An Aegean Journey of Despair)
Anders Fjellberg and Tomm W. Christiansen (NO): Våtdraktmysteriet
Gert van Langendonck (NL): Op naar Europa
Daniel Nolan (HU): Spinning the Crisis: how the Hungarian Government Played Europe’s Migrant Influx       
Amrai Coen and Henning Sussebach (DE): Im Gelobten Land
Dialika Neufeld (DE): Arme Schweine

The winners of the 2016 European Press Prize will be announced on April 14 2016 in Prague.