About the Awards

The European Awards for Journalism will be given in four different categories.
Each award will be for 10,000 euros, to be spent wherever possible on a personal project that may, in turn, enrich the practice of journalism. The judges are also empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.

The winners' work will be published on the website of the European Press Prize.

The Investigative Reporting Award

For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public – and society – has a right to know.

The Distinguished Writing Award

A prize that salutes the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad.

The Commentator Award

For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact.

The Innovation Award

For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future.

The Special Award

From 2013, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.


Peter Preston, chairman of the Preparatory Committee, offers a little background help on entering for a European Press Prize:

“The point of these awards is to honour the highest quality journalism we can find in the 47 countries of Europe during 2013. Often such quality crosses category boundaries. That’s why the search for the four main awards is drawn as widely as possible.

Investigative journalism really speaks for itself. All journalists recognise the work of investigative reporters, digging out facts that powerful forces want kept secret. Last year’s reporting entries from Denmark to Bosnia provided fine examples of this essential work. 

But all reporting isn’t investigative. Some of it – from national parliaments, council chambers, company boardrooms, for example – vividly describes what’s happening. Some of it – perhaps from conflict zones such as Syria or Afghanistan – is the traditional field of fine foreign correspondents. Some of it is feature writing or writing about the arts. 

We don’t want to exclude any of these areas. On the contrary, we wish to salute great writing through this new category: the Distinguished Writing award.

The Commentator award is there for all who write editorials or comment pieces on the op ed pages of newspapers, as well as for bloggers, economics correspondents and magazine journalists. It is the award for opinion pungently expressed.

The Innovation award is designed to take a step into journalism’s future. Last year it was won by an innovative team of reporters who used new techniques to explain and understand the London riots, but equally it could have gone to entries that pushed forward the boundaries of data processing. The key here is freshness, innovation and importance. 

This year there may also be a new prize – the judges’ special award. No-one need or should enter for this. The judges will choose for themselves – perhaps a brilliant runner-up in an existing category, perhaps something that sits outside boundaries, perhaps saluting the editor of a paper or magazine that has made a dynamic impact.

Thomas van Neerbos, the EPP bureau director, and his team stand ready to help with questions you may have.

Meanwhile, last year, we saw some of Europe’s finest journalists compete for these prizes. We want an even bigger and better entry this year. The quality we seek is exceptional: so should the entries be.”

Last years winners and nominees can be found in the WINNERS