Some of the most frequently asked questions are answered below. If you still have any other questions you can always send us an email on [email protected]

How many awards are there?

Four – worth 10,000 euros each. There is also a Special Award the jury can decide to award.

1. The Investigative Reporting Award – For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public – and society – has a right to know;

2. The Distinguished Reporting Award – For the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad;

3. The Public Discourse Award – For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact;

4. The Innovation Award – For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future;

The Special Award – From 2013 on, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.

Which countries’ journalists are eligible to compete?

Any of the 46 countries which make up the Council of Europe with the addition of Belarus and Russia are fine – though this isn’t a Council of Europe contest, or an EU one. We’ve just taken the widest possible practical definition of Europe.

What do I have to send in and where?

Entries can be sent in using the entry form on this website, which requires to add the full text of the entry as well as a word or PDF file.

What’s the timetable for the European Press Prize?

The European Press Prize will welcome entries from October 1, every year. The entry deadline is mid-December. For the entries for the 2022 edition, this is December 10, 2021.

After the entry deadline, our Preparatory Committee will start sifting through entries – ordering translations, consulting observers from journalism university departments, foreign-based correspondents and trusted observers in order to reduce the number of entries to no more than six in each category. The shortlist they select, is being published under ‘Stories’ on our website.

Who is on this preparatory committee?

The chairman is Denis Staunton, London Editor of The Irish Times. He’ll work with Belinda Goldsmith, editor-in-Chief of the Thomas Reuters Foundation, Heikelina Verrijn Stuart, an eminent journalist and lawyer from The Netherlands, Anna Husarska, Franco-Polish journalist and former staff writer at The New Yorker and The New Republic, Bartosz Wieliński, Polish journalist and head of the Foreign Department of Polish daily Gazeta Wyborcza, Ida Nyegård Espersen, Danish journalist and member of staff at the investigative team at the Danish newspaper Berlingske, Sebnem Arsu, consultant editor for The Independent newspaper, with a journalistic background in Turkey, Wafaa Albadry, a journalist currently working at Deutsche Welle and ambassador for Hostwriter, Natalia Antelava, co-founder and Editor-in-Chief at Coda Story, Beata Balogová, Editor-in-Chief of daily SME, Denis Džidić, Executive Director and Editor of BIRN BiH, Maria Exner, Editor-in-Chief of ZEITmagazin, host of z2xfest and incoming Fellow of Thomas Mann House, Konstanty Gebert, Associate Fellow and former head of the Warsaw office at the European Council on Foreign Relations, Sérgio B. Gomes, Editor of P2, Público, Winny de Jong, data journalist at the Dutch public news broadcast NOS, Oleg Khomenok, Board of Directors GIJN and Senior Media Advisor Internews Network, Cristian Lupșa, founding editor of DoR (Decât o Revistă), Natalie Nougayrède, columnist and member of the editorial board of The Guardian and Robert Bosch Academy Fellow, Jacopo Ottaviani, Chief Data Officer at Code for Africa, Lucila Rodríguez-Alarcón, co-founder and Executive Director of porCausa Foundation, and Dimitris Theodoropoulos, Deputy Director of Culture and Culture & Strategy Advisor at Onassis Foundation.

Their aim is to find a selection of the highest quality entries to pass on to the main judging panel.

When will that full panel sit?

At a prearranged time during January and February/March.

What is the composition of the Panel of Judges?

Alan Rusbridger, giant of journalism and former Editor-in-Chief of The Guardian is the chair of the Panel of Judges. Sylvie Kauffmann, editorial director of French newspaper Le Monde will join him on the panel together with Alexandra Föderl-Schmid, deputy editor-in-chief of the Süddeutsche Zeitung, Juan Luis Sánchez, co-founder and deputy director of eldiario.es,  Sheila Sitalsing, freelance journalist (radiohost, political commentator) and columnist for De Volkskrant and Can Dündar, Turkish journalist and editor-in-chief of the bilingual journalistic platform Özgürüz and a columnist for Die Zeit.

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the yearly European Press Prize ceremony. The ceremony normally takes place in May or June every year. All nominees will be asked to attend the ceremony. For more information, keep an eye out on our social media.