The Awards for Excellence in Journalism

Every year, the European Press Prize salutes and encourages the highest achievements in European journalism. We believe the elevation of journalism is a constant, urgent imperative. Entries can be sent in between the 1st of November and the 31st of December 2014. You can find more information on this website.


The European Press Prize will welcome entries between the 1st of November and the 31st of December 2014. Entries can be accepted in the language of their original publication. They will be assessed there by the preparatory committee, with entries of particular merit chosen for translation into English, the working language of the final judging panel. There are no absolute limits to the length or number of pieces that can be accepted by the preparatory committee; but, in general, no article or articles should exceed a maximum of 5000 words in all. Going beyond that puts a heavy strain on translation resources. Entrants who wish to have their pieces translated into English before submitting them are welcome. You can find more information about the timetable and procedure here.


Peter Preston, chairman of the Preparatory Committee, offers a little background help on entering for a European Press Prize:

“The point of these awards is to honour the highest quality journalism we can find in the 47 countries of Europe during 2013. Often such quality crosses category boundaries. That’s why the search for the four main awards is drawn as widely as possible.

Investigative journalism really speaks for itself. All journalists recognise the work of investigative reporters, digging out facts that powerful forces want kept secret. Last year’s reporting entries from Denmark to Bosnia provided fine examples of this essential work. 

But all reporting isn’t investigative. Some of it – from national parliaments, council chambers, company boardrooms, for example – vividly describes what’s happening. Some of it – perhaps from conflict zones such as Syria or Afghanistan – is the traditional field of fine foreign correspondents. Some of it is feature writing or writing about the arts. 

We don’t want to exclude any of these areas. On the contrary, we wish to salute great writing through the Distinguished Writing award.

The Commentator award is there for all who write editorials or comment pieces on the op ed pages of newspapers, as well as for bloggers, economics correspondents and magazine journalists. It is the award for opinion pungently expressed.

The Innovation award is designed to take a step into journalism’s future. The key here is freshness, innovation and importance. 

Last year the new prize was given out for the first time – the judges’ special award. No-one need or should enter for this. The judges will choose for themselves – perhaps a brilliant runner-up in an existing category, perhaps something that sits outside boundaries, perhaps saluting the editor of a paper or magazine that has made a dynamic impact.

Thomas van Neerbos, the EPP bureau director, and his team stand ready to help with questions you may have.

Meanwhile, last year, we saw some of Europe’s finest journalists compete for these prizes. We want an even bigger and better entry this year. The quality we seek is exceptional: so should the entries be.”

Last years winners and nominees can be found in the WINNERS

The Investigative Reporting Award
The Distinguished Writing Award
The Commentator Award
The Innovation Award
The Special Award