The European Press Prize salutes and encourages the highest achievements in European journalism at the annual Award Ceremony, a festival of dialogue, collaboration and storytelling. 

The 2018 Award Ceremony was held in Budapest, at the Vera and Donald Blinken Open Society Archives (OSA). The Ceremony took place on the 14th of March, on the eve of the Hungarian national holiday in commemoration of the Hungarian Revolution of 1848 – also considered a celebration of press freedom. An important day to reflect on the declining press freedom in Europe and the many brave journalists, fighting the good fight every day. 

You can find the program of the 2018 Award Ceremony here

Previous European Press Prize ceremonies were held in Prague, Copenhagen, Amsterdam and London. Keep an eye on this page to get the scoop on our next location!

Watch the 2018 aftermovie below.

Made by Liese Molenaar and David Hielkema.