Some of the most frequently asked questions are answered below. If you still have any other questions you can always send us an email on [email protected]

How many awards are there?

Four – worth 10,000 euros each. There is also a special prize the jury can decide to award.

1. The Investigative Reporting Award – For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public – and society – has a right to know;

2. The Distinguished Reporting Award – For the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad;

3. The Opinion Award – For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact;

4. The Innovation Award – For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future;

The Special Prize – From 2013, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.

Which countries’ journalists are eligible to compete?

Any of the 47 countries which make up the Council of Europe are fine – though this isn’t a Council of Europe contest, or an EU one. We’ve just taken the widest possible practical definition of Europe.

What do I have to send in and where?

Entries can be sent in using the entry form on this website, which requires to add the full text of the entry as a word or PDF file.

What’s the timetable for the European Press Prize?

The European Press Prize will welcome entries from October 1, every year. The entry deadline is mid-December. For the entries for the 2020 edition, this will be December 13, 2019.

After the entry deadline, a preparatory committee of judges will start sifting through entries – ordering translations, consulting observers from journalism university departments, foreign-based correspondents and trusted observers in order to reduce the number of entries to no more than six in each category. They’ll publish shortlists on the awards website.

Who is on this preparatory committee?

The chairman is Denis Staunton, London Editor of The Irish Times. He’ll work with Uffe Ris Sørensen, member of the board of the Jyllands-Posten Foundation in Denmark, Patrice Schneider from the Media Development Investment Fund, Belinda Goldsmith, editor-in-Chief of the Thomas Reuters Foundation, Heikelina Verrijn Stuart, an eminent journalist and lawyer from The Netherlands, Annette Bruhns, who’s in charge of SPIEGEL’s inland news and is correspondent for Schleswig-Holstein, Anna Husarska, Franco-Polish journalist and former staff writer at The New Yorker and The New Republic, Konstanty Gebert, journalist and former Board Member of MDIF, and Bartosz Wieliński, Polish journalist and head of the Foreign Department of Polish daily Gazeta Wyborcza. Their aim is to find a selection of the highest quality entries to pass on to the main judging panel.

When will that full panel sit?

At a prearranged time during January and early February.

What is the composition of the Panel of Judges? 

Sir Harold Evans, the iconic former editor of the Sunday Times in London, now editor-at-large for Thomson-Reuters, is the chairman of the panel of judges. Sylvie Kaufman, former editor of Le Monde, Jørgen Ejbøl, former editor of Jyllands-Posten, Yevgenia Albats, Editor in Chief and CEO of the Moscow-based political weekly The New Times will join him on the panel together with Alexandra Föderl-Schmid, correspondent of the Süddeutsche Zeitung for Israel and the Palestine territories.

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the yearly European Press Prize ceremony. The ceremony takes place in May every year. All nominees will be asked to attend the ceremony.